Work Like an Egyptian

11327042_444084005772990_1829767116_n

There are a few mantras that I find myself repeating while working on the farm.  I am usually reciting these sayings during difficult or stressful times and I find that they give me focus and clarity.  Like Gandalf puffing away on his pipe, this quick meditation gives me some time to sort things out and analyze the problem without the emotional stress that separates an emergency from a problem.  One of my most often used sayings is “work like an Egyptian.”  There are many times when I am in the field without equipment or a tractor and I need to move something heavy, bulky, or multiple times.  As I sit there looking at the situation I think to myself what would the Egyptians have done about this?  Well I know they would have used one the two classifications of simple tools.  In the first category is the lever family that among many other simple machines includes the lever, pulley, and the wheel and axle.  The other simple machines are members of the wedge family that includes the wedge, screw, and inclined plane.  All of these machines and their variants make work more efficient and therefore easier.  My puny body has been able to accomplish some seemingly amazing feats using simple machines and by positioning my body in a way that takes full mechanical advantage of my situation.  For instance, I was able to get a dry round bale (700 lbs) into the back of pick up by myself.  I have also moved tractors that were hopelessly stuck in the mud and buckled bracing under heavy loads using pulleys.  My point is that utilizing a positive mental attitude, taking a minute to analyze the problem, and utilizing simple tools can go a long way in getting you out of a difficult situation. And if you can’t figure out how to move it on your own, you can make a phone call and get a chance to say my second favorite thing on the farm, “thank you, I couldn’t have done it without you.”

 

Leave a Reply

